About the Olde Rhinebeck Inn
A classic example of an Early American Telescoping Colonial Farmhouse, the home that is now the Olde Rhinebeck Inn was built in stages. The dining room was built in 1738 by Johann Michael Pultz, a German Palatine, who became a tenant farmer to local land baron, Henry Beekman. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Olde Rhinebeck Inn is located just three and a half miles southeast of the charming village of Rhinebeck, NY, the four-room inn is ideally located to enjoy the highlights of the Hudson River Valley.
Through the Generations
As his family grew and the farm prospered, Pultz and his wife added one room to the home at a time – every 5 to 10 years. They raised 10 children here, and the house remained in the family for 12 generations (or nearly 240years). In 1760, they carved out a piece of land to start the Wurtemburg Lutheran Church, and everyone who has lived in the house is buried in the church’s graveyard.
The grounds are a perfect escape from the city, the inn is charmingly situated on a country lane. A lovely spot for a romantic getaway or an intimate wedding, our three-acre grounds include a spacious stone patio for guests to enjoy. Sit on our Adirondack chairs by the bass-stocked, spring-fed pond, row out on the pond and commune with our ducks or lounge in the hammock nestled in the north garden. Share in the bounty of our small but robust vegetable garden.